Kate hadn’t have the time to ask Rick what had happened when she was gone, but Captain Gates said something about assault charges and it concerned Rick.

 

“Assault charges?”

 

Rick had avoided the question and asked Gates if there was any way for him to avoid the worst punishment for what he had done. The brunette would ask again later, when it would be just the two of them. And when things would be calmer than they were right now. For now, Kate needed to rest. It would be difficult after what had happened to her, after what she’s just been through with Kelly Nieman.

 

A few days later, after she had spent a few days resting at the loft on the orders of Captain Gates, Kate was ready to get back to work and go back to the precinct. Both partners were having breakfast together in the kitchen. Rick was making some pancakes and a fruit salad so his wife would have all the energy and vitamins she needs to go back.

 

“Babe?”

“Hm?” he answered, or tried to, with a hot pancake in his mouth.

“What did Gates mean when she talked about assault charges?”

“Oh… that.”

 

Rick chewed his pancake before he turned to his wife who was waiting to hear what had happened. Or rather, what he had done.

 

“You were missing and I knew Tyson and Nieman were responsible for your disappearance. No one believed me when I said it was Tyson and not whatever his name was, and it drove me crazy. This guy just appears out of nowhere, Michael or whatever, looks exactly like Tyson but says he’s someone else. This makes no sense. I… I was afraid and I started to lose it and so… one night I went to his place with your back up gun and I… I threatened him and pointed the gun at him.”

“Rick…”

“I know… I know I shouldn’t have done that, but I was so afraid that they would… that they would kill you. I was angry and frustrated because no one believed me so I just…”

 

Kate wrapped her arms around him and gently touched his cheek.

 

“I would have done the same thing if you were the one taken away or missing, Rick. I’d do anything to bring you back home. Don’t tell Gates I said that though.”

“Don’t worry, your secret’s safe with me.”

 

Rick gave her a soft kiss on the lips before they both finished their breakfast and finished getting ready before leaving for the precinct. The greatest duo in the city was back.

Petits prompts, chapitre 78 (eng).
Retour à l'accueil